Theme images by merrymoonmary. Powered by Blogger.

Citizens' Web Tv


Citizens' Voice





» » Assam gets five more districts

Chumthang News Service
GUWAHATI/2015: (IANS) Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi on Saturday announced the formation of five new districts in the state, taking their total number to 32.

Gogoi announced the creation of the districts while delivering his Independence Day speech at a function organised at the Veterinary College ground in Khanapara area here.

The five new districts are Biswanath Chariali, Hojai, West Karbi Anglong, Charaideu and South Salmara-Mankachar.

In 2003, the Assam government created three districts — Udalguri, Chirang and Baksa — which along with Kokrajhar district accommodated the creation of a Bodoland Territorial Council.

The chief minister, however, was non-committal on the demand for the creation of sub-divisions in the state.

Different organisations across the state are asking the government to create 55 new sub-divisions for better governance.

According to norms in Assam, there should be a minimum population of 10 lakh to create a district and at least four lakh for a sub-division.

The minimum population required for a hill district is two lakh.

Newer Post
Older Post

No comments:

Leave a Reply