Theme images by merrymoonmary. Powered by Blogger.

Citizens' Web Tv


Citizens' Voice





» » » » 7th Manipur Conference of AMDWA Concluded. Government should arrange security for women in workplaces - Mariam Dhawale.

The 7th Manipur Conference of the All Manipur Democratic Women's Association (AMDWA) , an affiliated unit of All India Democratic Women's Association (AIDWA) was held on 14 May 2022 at Manipur Dramatic Union Hall, Imphal. The venue was named as L Tarunibala and RK Danita Village  the departed leaders of the Association .

The conference began with the flag hoisting by veteran women's activist M Randhoni Devi. The flag hoisting was followed by floral tribute to the martyrs.

Prof. Malini Bhattacharjee ( former MP and and member of National Women Commission), President of AIDWA, addressing the inaugural session said that the women folks of this country particularly of this state Manipur should be vigilant against the onslaught of the RSS backed BJP led Central and State governments. The women are the victims of patriarchal system, that's why we demand equality. Now democracy is undermined in the country because of the faulty electoral system, we demand proportional representation system with partial list. She further said that we, the women of this country, should defend secularism and our constitutional rights.

Asstt. Prof. Koijam Shantibala Devi of Manipuri Department of Manipur University loudly mentioned the name of three revolutionary women of Manipur viz. Maharaj Kumari Binodini, Kumari Thoibi Devi and Pramodini Devi.

Mariam Dhawale , General Secretary of AIDWA, addressing the delegates session said that Manipuri women are in the forefront of fighting injustices . She further expressing her support to the women of Manipur said that AMDWA, as an affiliated unit of AIDWA should lead the women of the state for Uetterment and Upliftment of the women of the state.

The conference adopted an eight pages printed report placed by Ayekpam Ashabala Devi and other resolutions were adopted including 33% reservation for women in parliament and legislative assemblies, against price hike, security for women in workplaces, free and compulsory education, MGNREGA, Violence against women, AFSPA etc.

The conference elected a 17 members state committee and in turn the committee re-elected Ch Sundari, Asem Binodini, Ayekpam Ashabala Devi, Huiningsumbam Ranjita, and Yumnam Chandrabali Leima as President, Vice President, Secretary, Joint Secretary and Treasurer respectively .

Ayekpam Ashabala Devi


All Manipur Democratic Women's Association

Paona Bazar, Imphal.

The conference concluded with revolutionary slogans.

Newer Post
Older Post

No comments:

Add your comment to start the conversation :